CIE 2624 AEC/Park Royal Railcar built 1953

CIE 2624 AEC/Park Royal Railcar built 1953

CIE 2624 AEC/Park Royal Railcar built 1953
CIE 2624 AEC/Park Royal Railcar built 1953

 

Present Location Downpatrick
County Location Newry, Mourne & Down
Designed For CIE
Built by Park Royal
Type Railcar
First Number 2624
Later Numbers 6111
Present Number 6111
Gauge 5ft 3in
Wheel Arrangement 4-w bogies
Original Underframe Yes
Original Bogies/Wheelsets Yes
Additional Notes Last remaining example of a fleet of 60 railcars built by AEC/Park Royal for CIE as part of the dieselisation programme. Converted to push-pull driving car in 1973/4. Last ran in service 05/86: withdrawn 09/87. This last survivor retained by Iarnrod Eireann for preservation and in store at Inchicore until acquired by Downpatrick & County Down Railway, where it arrived 02/15.
Owner Downpatrick & County Down Railway
External Structural Condition Satisfactory
Internal Structural Condition Satisfactory
Underframe Condition Satisfactory
External Finish Poor but Substantially Complete
Internal Finish Poor but Substantially Complete
Degree of External Originality As built/last Passenger rebuild (BR or before)
Degree of Internal Originality As built/last Passenger rebuild (BR or before)
Degree of Underframe/Running Gear Originality As built/last Passenger rebuild (BR or before)
Degree of External Authenticity Very Good
Degree of Internal Authenticity Very Good
Degree of Underframe Authenticity Very Good
Rarity Unique
Historical Importance Exceptionally Important
Storage Under Cover
Operating No
Survey Date 28/01/2003
Surveyor Colin Holliday
Photo Date 28/01/2003
At Risk No
Date Record Last Updated 11/04/2016


 

 














 

Start Another Search - Vintage Carriages Trust Web Site

Use or publication of this data must acknowledge the Carriage Survey as the source. Information from Railway

 Heritage Register web sites must not be used in a commercial context without the written permission of the

Railway Heritage Register.